Enduring the Wind

Enduring the Wind

Good morning!

I apologize for the late update! I didn't end up racing a whole lot this indoor season, so I’ve been waiting and collecting information to share and stories to tell. This indoor season, I raced an 800m at Washburn and then traveled to Boston for a mile. A big takeaway from the mile was that I ran an indoor PR of 3:56.0, dropping my previous personal best by two seconds, which I ran three years ago. A PR is cool and all, but I got my butt whooped in that race! Mentally, it was like I was never in the race and only had one gear.

It felt like a short indoor season, which is a bit of a bummer, but I need to keep the bigger picture in mind. What matters most for this season is June 21 - the Olympic Trials! I already have the qualifying standard time from a 1500m I raced last July, so now I can focus more on training. Over the years, I’ve found that I’m not the best at a “time trial” type of race. Ever since my college running days, my body hasn't responded the best to an all-out get-after-it type of race. I have always done my best competing when the pace lags a bit, then really compete the last lap. That being said, I can't wait to go back to the basics and prepare myself for championship-style races, where you leave a lot left in the tank for the last 200m of the race. 

A Little Encouragement

As track season begins, it feels like a good time to share one of my favorite quotes about the sport, and life, from the most decorated 1500-meter runner in U.S. history, male or female - Jenny Simpson. 

“Life doesn't guarantee that hard work will equal victory. I do the work because I want to see the best that's within me. I'm humbled by where my work has taken me. I’m humbled and I’m grateful. My hope and prayer for each of you is that you choose a healthy path, dig in when it gets hard, and scream and shout when it all pays off.” 

Distance Medley

When I was in college, I always dreamed of our distance medley relay (DMR) qualifying for the national meet. Unfortunately, we could never get four guys healthy and ready to run fast to qualify. It was a different goal of ours because it was one of few opportunities to qualify as a “team” rather than racing individually. Last year, we were ranked 13th in the nation and they took 12 to nationals. This event continued to haunt me! 

That is, until this year, our guys put down a stellar race early in the season to qualify for nationals. Qualifying was special because this was the first time in decades that Fort Hays had taken a DMR team to nationals. They had everything to gain and nothing to lose in this race. In the end, the men of the Fort placed sixth place in a great battle. Trever Medina (1200m leg) from Weskan, KS, Hayden Albright (400m leg) from Kingman, KS, Ethan Lang (800m leg) from Hays, KS, and Grant Bradley (1600m leg) from Aurora, CO have been the squad for the last two years. I usually don’t get emotional, but after that race, a lot of emotions surfaced. I was so proud of the way they all competed and most importantly how they all handled trials throughout their time running at The Fort. 

Endurance and Humility 

I’ve always admired stories of people showing great endurance when their life has been tough, stories in which people keep their chin held high, and are hopeful for the future. Man, those testimonies are impactful. Many of these folks understand that this life isn't our “best life”. People who have had hardships have learned the importance of pressing on. They have learned the hard way that to gain endurance, one must endure. 

My father-in-law, Terry, passed away in January and it has been the hardest thing that has happened in our life. We are so thankful to have our faith to lean into during this heartbreaking time. Terry’s life when he was young was one of enduring. In high school, his mom moved to Kansas City and he and his dad lived in Winona, Kansas. His dad passed away his senior year of high school, which led him to finish school living by himself. He pressed on, worked hard, and lived a humble life. You would have never guessed that Terry faced some of these challenges in life when he was younger. If you ever ran into him he would greet you with a big smile, a fist bump, say a witty joke, and probably encourage you in some loving fashion.

An athlete shared this verse with me recently, and it really reminds me of Terry. 

“Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his interests but also to the interests of others.” - Philippians 2:3-4 

We miss Terry deeply and that will never stop in this life. How grateful we are to love him and to have been loved by him. We look forward to the promise of heaven and the opportunity to see him again one day. 

“Strong Wind, Strong Roots: What Trees Teach Us About Life” 

There was an ecological experiment in the desert where people created a biodome. The biodome had perfect conditions for people, plants, vegetables, and trees to live in. The interesting part was that once the trees grew tall, they would start to fall over. The scientists should have accounted for the natural element of wind. Trees need wind to blow against them because it causes their root systems to grow deeper, which supports the tree as it grows taller.

 “Watch an old, strong tree in the wind the next time it storms. It sways and bends with the wind, remaining in flow with the energy around it. While the wind, at times, has the power to upend a tree, one that has gone through many storms will likely withstand many more, for its roots are deep and strong. The metaphor here is that to grow deeply, we cannot hide in a dome; we must live in the world around us.” 

When times are tough, we need to understand that we are growing even stronger. The next time we have a windy day (which is probably tomorrow if you live in Kansas), let it be a reminder of what it is teaching us about endurance. 

Olympic Year Race Schedule!!!

  • April - Baby Meyer enters the world** Possibly today!... (“Dad strength” loading!)

  • April 27 - Drake Relays 1500m

  • May 11 - Los Angeles 1500m

  • May 30 - Festival of Miles in St. Louis

  • June 1 - Nashville 1500m or 800m (Tentative)

  • June 8 - Portland 1500m

  • June 21 - Olympic Trials Round 1

  • June 22 - Olympic Trials Round 2

  • June 24 - Olympic Trials Final

Stayed turned for links to watch races and updates on our soon-to-be newest member of the family!

Lastly, we have a limited amount of Hold Fast Running t-shirts available for purchase. Just send me a message if you’d like to support! 

Hold Fast

Work Hard

Be Humble